Fastrack to Payday: Practice Pointers for Chapter 13 Attorney Fee Applications in
the Western District of Washington

Bryan R. Williamson, Law Clerk to Judge Mary Jo Heston

Introductory Notes & Disclaimer: This brief guide is intended to help chapter 13
practitioners get paid and ease this Bankruptcy Court’s burden in reviewing chapter 13
attorney fee applications. It is an outline to maximize efficiency and utility for practitioners,
and basic legal standards are not provided. This guide is purely practical and does not
address all chapter 13 attorney fee application issues. My recommendations are from
practical observation and are guided by caselaw. My opinions in this piece do not reflect
the Bankruptcy Court’s opinion on these issues, and this guide should not be cited as
authority.

Local Authority: Local chapter 13 attorney fee application practices are governed by
Local Rules W.D. Wash. Bankr. 2016-1(a), (e), and (f). These three rules specifically
describe the requirements for chapter 13 fee applications. A practitioner who reads these
rules before submitting her fee application will be off to a good start.

Notice: Under Fed. R. Bankr. P. 2002(a)(6), 21 days’ notice is required if the application
is over $1,000. And, Local Rule W.D. Wash. Bankr. 9013-1(d)(2)(F) mandates 21 days’
notice under its catchall provision.

Service: Per Local Rules W.D. Wash. Bankr. 2016-1(e)(3), applications must be served
on the debtor and the Chapter 13 Trustee, and a notice of hearing on an application must
be served on the debtor, the Chapter 13 Trustee, all creditors holding allowed claims, and
all parties requesting notice under Fed. R. Bankr. P. 2002(i).

Formatting:

e All applications for compensation shall conform to Local Bankruptcy Form 13-9.

e A proposed order approving the application shall be attached to the application as
a separate document and the order shall conform to Local Bankruptcy Form 13-
10.

e If compensation is requested as part of a motion that seeks other relief, an
application and proposed order that conform to Local Bankruptcy Forms 13-9 and
13-10, respectively, shall be attached to the motion.

Required Disclosure:

e Attorneys representing debtors in chapter 13 cases shall provide debtors with a
copy of Local Bankruptcy Form 13-5 entitled “Rights and Responsibilities of
Chapter 13 Debtors and Their Attorney” (“Rights and Responsibilities Disclosure”).

e The Rights and Responsibilities Disclosure shall be signed by each debtor,
certifying receipt, and by the debtor’s attorney.

e Failure to provide a copy of the Rights & Responsibilities Disclosure may result in
denial or disgorgement of attorney fees.
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The Amount of Compensation:

General Order No. 2019-1: $4,000 “no-look” fee is effective for cases filed after
January 31, 2019.

o W.D. of Washington Bankruptcy Court Judges require ch. 13 attorneys to
only seek approval for the amount above the no-look fee. For example, if
an attorney first applies for compensation of $5,500 after the Court
approved her $4,000 no-look fee in the confirmation order, only $1,500
needs to be requested in the application and the proposed order.

o The attorney applicant must still provide all billing narratives from the
chapter 13’'s commencement to show the no-look fee was actually earned.
Local Rules W.D. Wash. Bankr. 2016-1(e)(3) (“Attorneys . . . requesting
compensation above the presumptive fee shall . . . file an itemized time
record for all services provided for representation . . ..” (emphasis added)).

o If the fee application is not your first application, your submitted billing
records need only be from the date of the last fee award.

The compensation application’s text should clearly state the total compensation
amount sought for the total number of hours billed. In the billing narrative, clearly
identify any no-charge, write-off, or discount entries.

Billing Narratives and Time Entries:

A professional requesting compensation must exercise “reasonable billing
judgment” in incurring its fees. Leichty v. United States Trustee (In re Strand), 375
F.3d 854, 860 (9th Cir. 2004) (quoting Roberts, Sheritan & Kotel, P.C. v. Bergen
Brunswig Drug Co. (In re MEDNET, MPC Corp.), 251 B.R. 103, 108 (9th Cir. BAP
2000)). Given this maxim, use your best professional judgment when deciding to
bill time expended on any task for a client.

Each entry must identify the person that billed the entry, e.g., Atticus Dettefré bills
for “preparing the chapter 13 plan; formulating non-standard provisions.” In doing
so, Atticus uses a key to save space and identify himself by his initials and puts
“AD” in the entry identifying that he billed for that entry.

Billing rates must be reasonable for the type of work performed. See, e.g., Hensley
v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 433 (1983).

Consider your audience by submitting billing narratives in a format that you would
want to read. In other words, make it easy for the reviewing court to grant your fee
application.

o Note, judges and law clerks often review many fee applications per day. A
billing narrative that is in smaller than 11 or 12 font with maximum margins
and far too many entries for one page is painful to read. Nobody wants to
use a magnifying glass to read your one-page billing narrative that fits the
entire billing history on one sheet. It is okay if the billing narrative has
multiple pages so long as it uses a reasonable font style, size, and, always,
conforms with applicable authority.

o Attorneys can further help the reviewing reader by breaking down pre-
confirmation billing entries and post-confirmation billing entries. This can be
accomplished with a simple notation or heading dividing the billing narrative
into two sections.
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= Nothing precludes a preconfirmation interim fee application, but it is
not common practice in this district. A bankruptcy judge may be more
likely to require the attorney applicant to appear at a hearing to justify
the pre-confirmation application.

e Clerical time is not compensable. If clerical time is included in the fee application,
the amount billed must be zero dollars or “no charge.” See In re CF & | Fabricators
of Utah, Inc., 131 B.R. 474, 494 (Bankr. D. Utah 1991) (discussing different non-
compensable clerical activities):

If the service performed by a paraprofessional consists of
typing, data entry, checking court dockets or court dates,
manually assembling, collating, marking, processing,
photocopying, or mailing documents, the task is clerical in
nature and not compensable. Such tasks are traditionally
charged to overhead and included in the professional's hourly
rate. If no singular education or experience is required, if the
service requires extensive supervision by the professional, or
if there is no discretion involved, the service is not specifically
compensable.

Note that paralegal and legal assistant time may be compensable for reasonable

rates and time for non-clerical tasks.

e Avoid block billing, and itemize the time expended on specific tasks. See In re
Burns, 503 B.R. 666, 677—78 (Bankr. S.D. Miss. 2013).

e Attorney travel time may be compensable. Caselaw on travel time compensability
is inconclusive, see, e.g., In re Thomas, 2009 WL 7751299, at *9 (9th Cir. BAP
July 6, 2009), and there is no local rule governing the topic.

o From reviewing dockets in this district, each bankruptcy judge has an
individual approach to travel time compensability, but most judges in this
district appear to allow billing for half-time.

o Forexample, a local chapter 13 practitioner, J. Remy Bentham, bills at $350
per hour for one hour spent travelling from Seattle to Tacoma to attend a
341 meeting and she only charges her client $175. His entry for that time
might state “03/15/2021 — JRB — $350/hour — Service Rendered: Travel
from SEA to TAC re: 341 Meeting at half rate (1hr); attend 341 mtg (0.3hr);
debrief 341 mtg w/ clt (0.2hr) — Time: 1 hr. — Amount Billed: $350.00.“ Now,
some basic math (get your abacus!) shows the entry represents ($175 or
$350/2)+$105+$70=$350.

e For additional guidance, refer to the U.S. Trustee Program’s fee application
quidelines. See generally Guidelines for Reviewing Applications for Compensation,

28 C.F.R. Pt. 58, App. A (1996).

Concluding Notes: When in doubt, read the local bankruptcy rules in detail for guidance
and then call Chambers if you have procedural questions.
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